Help Us Help Them

Meet Luca

Dog - Husky, Siberian/Husky

Sex: Male

Age: 1.25 years

Weight: 56 lbs.

Color: Grey/White

Current Status: Available Foster

Name: Luca

About Luca

Sex: Male

Color: White/Tan/Grey

Eye Color: Brown

Birthday: 4/10/2019

Weight: 56 lbs

Large Dog Friendly: Yes

Small Dog Friendly: Yes

Cat Friendly: No

Crate Trained: Yes

Housebroken: Yes, on a schedule

Energy Level: Medium/Low

Reaction to New People: Nervous

Kid Friendly: No, Luca should go to a home with kids 14 or older

Training: Needs additional training | currently working on sit and touch

Grooming Needs: Luca has a standard husky coat which will require frequent thorough brushing. You should aim for at least once a week, and more when he is blowing his coat, typically twice a year.

Fence: Would do best with a fence vs. a tie out

Solo or Siblings: Luca would like to find a forever home with siblings to play with

From the Foster: Hi there, my name is Luca! I wasn't socialized growing up so I find new situations and new people kind of scary. I spook pretty easily. Lucky for me my foster family has experience with shy guys like me, so they're showing me the world isn't such a scary place!

I learn a lot from my foster brothers; like how to howl in sync, how to dig holes in the yard, and best of all how to play. I would do best in a home with another younger brother or sister that likes to play and who can show me the ropes who is around my size. I need a playmate! I am very submissive, so a gentle leader would be great.

I am still working on walking on a leash and not running in circles to make sure my surroundings are okay, but each day I get better and better. We learned that a harness works very well and I don't tug as much. If I walk with other dogs, I do pretty well after the first block. Loud noises and fast movements still scare me, so be patient when we walk. After that first block I seem to get my bearings and remember what it's like to see the world.

I grow attached to a single human who is calm, cool and who will take time to train me. Patience and repetition work best for my training. I would do best with one or two humans in the house since kids scare me. I would thrive in a slow and calm household where I can have a lot of one on one attention.

I am a super dog in my kennel, in fact it's where I feel the safest. When you leave me alone, leave me in my kennel and I don't make a peep! I am starting to sleep in a dog bed in foster mom and dad's bedroom at night, but if I hear a scary noise, I may run back to my hiding place in the closet.

I am so very sweet, but I am still very shy. I may regress when in a new home because it took approximately 3 months in my foster's home to start understanding that humans are okay and I could socialize a bit more and bond. Are you ready to give me a chance to grow with you?

Adoption Fee: $350

All dogs coming into Adopt a Husky Minnesota receive care tailored to their needs, including: Nose-to-tail exam with a partner veterinarian, Vaccinations (Rabies, Distemper, Bordetella), 4DX test to check for heartworm or tick exposure, Fecal Analysis, Heartworm and Flea/Tick Preventative, Spay/Neuter prior to adoption, Microchip, and are evaluated for temperament and trainability.