Help Us Help Them

Meet Magic Mike

Dog - Husky, Siberian/Husky

Sex: Male

Age: 1.67 years

Weight: 52 lbs.

Color: Red/Mahogany/White

Current Status: Available Foster

Name: Mike

About Magic Mike

Sex: Male

Color: Red and White

Eye Color: Blue eyes

Birthdate: 03/17/18 est.

Approximate Weight: 52 lbs

Good With Dogs: Yes. I run and wrestle with my two young foster brothers a lot! There is a grumpy older fellow here that I like to poke at but whenever he growls or yells at me I back off, but I do keep going back to bug him some more!

Good With Cats: No

Crate Trained: I am working on kennel acceptance. I do like to protest being in the kennel and I've been known to break out of a few of them in my past. I don't cry the whole time, but off and on enough that I will not be able to live in a home that has closeby neighbors who may hear me.

Housebroken: I had accidents in my previous home, but I have been watched closely in my foster home and I haven't had any accidents at all!

Energy Level: High

Good With Kids: I am quite bouncy and I like to jump so I shouldn't be around small kids who could get knocked over easily

Training: Sometimes I know sit and down, sometimes I don't! I walk very nicely with a training collar but on a regular collar or leash I really like to pull. I do need to learn some manners like not jumping on people or putting my feet on counters but I am smart and learning all this stuff real fast! Now I only put my feet on the counter when I know my peanut butter snack is up there and it is just so hard to wait for it!!! In one week I already learned that when we get to doors I have to wait for them to be opened, I can't try to open them myself. Sometimes I forget and still try, but my human reminds me I'm not supposed to do that so I sit and wait nicely for her to open the door for me.

Comments: I've been in puppy jail twice and I'm not even 2 years old! The first time I ran away from home and my people didn't come to get me. The second time I was adopted then returned because I came down with Bored Husky Syndrome. I wasn't getting the exercise needed for a young fellow like myself and I would get destructive and have accidents in my home. My foster home has discovered I don't really like to go potty on a leash, I don't go potty as much as the other dogs do when we go for walks. I usually like to wait and go potty in my own yard where I don't have to be on a leash with someone staring at me when I go. I did have to be on a tie out in my previous home so that may be why I decided to potty inside. I should probably be in a house with a fenced in yard so I don't have to be tied up and can run around as much as I want! And my fence needs to be high because I can jump over those short little 4 foot fences. If left alone I am more likely to try to escape by either jumping or digging. Now that you know my faults, here are some good things about me. I love my people! I love going for walks and I am very polite on my training collar. I sleep real good all night, especially if I am allowed to sleep with my people. I like to snuggle! I like to make friends and play well with my foster brothers, even though they can get pretty rough sometimes (they are huskies too). When foster mom takes me to work I am a very good boy and like to lay by her feet with a bone while she eats her lunch. Oh, and I will do just about ANYTHING for peanut butter!!! I would love to find a home who will take me for regular adventures. A daily walk or run with an occasional long hike thrown in maybe once or twice a week sounds like the best life to me! I could probably even learn to be good at skijoring or bikejoring!

Adoption Fee: $350

All our fosters are: Spayed or neutered before adoption. Evaluated for temperament and trainability. Up to date on rabies, distemper and bordetella, Heart-worm tested and on preventative year round. Microchipped.